Skip to content

Brothers win feature races at the Estevan Motor Speedway

Eighty-four drivers were entered between the speedway's five different classes.
Kyle Scholpp (2) won the stock car feature on Saturday night.

ESTEVAN - Kody and Kyle Scholpp were among the feature race winners Saturday on a great night for racing at the Estevan Motor Speedway.

Kody Scholpp, who resides in Estevan, won the modified class, while Kyle Scholpp of Lampman was the victor in the stock car race.

Isaiah Geisel started from the pole position in the modified feature and held the lead for most of the race. Meanwhile, Scholpp worked his way up from the ninth spot on the starting grid and worked his way up to second. He moved into the lead with four laps to go, and while Geisel briefly regained top spot, Scholpp took it back and never surrendered first again.

Tyson Turnbull finished second, Geisel was third and Steven Pfeifer came fourth.

The race was called on the final lap after an incident between Dexter Saxon and Cole Fichter resulted in Saxon's vehicle rolling. He was reportedly okay.

Scholpp now leads the modified standings with 118 points, three more than Pfeifer.

Kyle Scholpp, who lives in Lampman, moved into the lead of the stock car portion midway through the race after passing Chris Hortness, and built a comfortable advantage at one point. His biggest challenge came from Austin Daae, who won the first two stock car features this season. Daae closed the gap after passing Hortness for second and made several attempts to pass on the final laps.

Daae briefly nudged his way into the lead on the backstretch with a couple of laps remaining, and had one last push for the lead before the final lap, but then blew a tire and had to drop out.

Hortness was second, Adam Goff was third and Joren Boyce was fourth.

Boyce has 11 points to lead the standings, one more than Daae.

Brennor Grinstead of Stanley, N.D., captured the hobby stock race, despite starting 15th out of 18 drivers on the grid. He passed Connor Hanson for top spot with a few laps to go and withstood challenges from Hanson late in the race. Hanson had led from the beginning, despite a couple of cautions that kept the field bunched together. Grinstead took over top spot after Hanson went sideways between turns three and four.

Kaiden Tuchscherer was third and Diezel Raynard came in fourth.

Grinstead and Hanson lead the points race with 77 points each.

Robby Rosselli of Minot captured the sport mod feature. He passed Gabriel Deschamps on the outside with a couple of laps remaining following a restart and withstood a challenge for top spot. Tim Goodwin was third and Leevi Runge was fourth.

Justin Fichter held the lead for much of the program and was in contention throughout the feature until he dropped with a couple of laps to go.

Ryder Raynard started from the pole but his engine blew up at the beginning of the feature, causing a collision that also took out Keenan Glasser from the race.

Deschamps has 78 points, one more than Rosselli.

Brogan Wagner of Weyburn was the winner of the slingshot feature for the second time this season, finishing ahead of Sladen Pfeifer. Wagner held a comfortable lead at one point, but had to navigate through lapped traffic, which brought the field together. Kolby Fichter was third and Gage Goetz was fourth. 

Wagner leads the points race with 118, nine more than Goetz.

The next program will be the annual stop for the Dakota Classic Modified Tour on July 8 at 7 p.m. The event will attract modified and stock car drivers from throughout North America.